Bizarre Mooncakes


An idea inspired by some comments made in my post Moon Festival: Celebration of Togetherness, here is a collection of some of the most novel, intriguing, <put your own adjective here> modern mooncake fillings that I’ve seen mentioned on the web (in large part thanks to wikipedia).

Disclaimer: I have not tasted any one of them.

Sad.

Ping Jelly mooncake with red bean paste

(Lots of the so-called “modern mooncakes” have crusts that “do not require baking”, such as Glutinous Rice and Jelly crusts. That’s why they can be filled with “pretty much anything”…)

  • taro paste and pineapple
  • nuts
  • lychee
  • melons
  • sweet potatoes
  • ham
  • champagne truffle (snow-skin)
  • cream cheese
  • ginseng
  • bird’s nest
  • chicken floss
  • tiramisu
  • green tea
  • pandan
  • durian !!!!!!!!!!!!
  • ice cream (Haagen Dazs and other variety. For the health-conscious, no worries, there are fat-free ice creams)
  • chocolate
  • coffee
  • peanut
  • yogurt
  • jelly

Related Articles:

7 responses to “Bizarre Mooncakes

  1. My wife is going to like this post. :)

  2. Is this a complete post? I am expecting more photos!

  3. I’ll take an old fashioned red bean with egg yolk mooncake over the modern bizarre versions anyday!

    OK, maybe I won’t mind a red bean one with 4 egg yolks…

    Jane

  4. FOUR egg yolks!!

    that’s bizarre enough for me

    i read your “why I blog”, reminds me of so many things… my writing is my voice, couldn’t have said it better…

  5. Yes! They now sell mooncakes with 2, 3, even 4 egg yolks. Last year I bought a case with 4 egg yolks and lotus seeds, then I discovered that the egg yolks gave me a heart burn and I couldn’t eat any, after all :-(

  6. Durian should be illegal! And that picture is icky-looking. I wonder if there are Cthulhu mooncakes.

    What the heck is “chicken floss”?

  7. haha, chicken floss is RouSong (肉松) in Chinese,

    “is a dried Chinese meat item that has a light and fluffy texture similar to coarse cotton. Rousong is used as a topping for many foods such as congee, tofu, and savory soy milk. It is also used as filling for various buns and pastries, and as a snack food on its own.”

    There’s a picture of it here. It’s actually pretty tasty.

    That icky-looking thing is a pink jelly mooncake with red bean paste inside…

    What is Cthulhu?
    i looked on wikipedia it’s “often referred to as a tongue-in-cheek shorthand for extreme horror or evil”?!?

Leave a Reply

